RSS Feed

A High Seas Adventure

Posted on

Children are the living messages we send to a time we will not see.  ~Neil Postman, The Disappearance of Childhood (introduction), 1982

For the first time in my adult life, I had the opportunity to participate in a church’s Vacation Bible School, my church’s in fact.  The love for my church has grown bigger over the past 5 months that we’ve been there, but I think it grew ten fold this week as I got to see not only our children learning about God and even practicing what they learned, but our adult and teen workers being taught about God by the children.  I was hugely impacted by the enthusiasm our children have for God and how they display it in their own individual, unique ways.  It is in our best interest to raise our children up in the way they should go so they will not deviate from it, so that they will be the examples for our world, examples of goodness, kindness, love, and godliness. Though no one could see it because my face was generally hidden behind my camera (a place that is quickly becoming my safe zone), the children, adults, and youth of our wonderful community and small town church brought tears to my eyes on more than one occasion during our High Seas Adventure.    I am so grateful to be a part of this church and for every opportunity I have to serve and fellowship with them, and I love to call Louisburg Baptist Church my church home!  It is a church that is growing and a church that is striving to constantly love and serve our community, our nation, and our world and a church with which God is surely well pleased.

4 responses »

  1. First of all, I love that little boy whose hair is almost as orange as his shirt. How cute is he??

    Second, is that a lovely new logo you have?

    Reply
  2. That is so awesome!! I love serving my church and my community, and it’s so incredible to see others doing the same. Looks like a fun VBS!! 🙂 Great photos.

    Reply
  3. Great quote, I love working with children too. Thanks for your service to our future!!

    Reply
  4. Liz, It was so nice to meet you in person recently! I’m enjoying your blog and I just love that quote at the top of this post. I’m definitely writing that down. Also, you know that my parents have been blessed by LBC and I’m sure the entire church is blessed by your family’s presence and service.
    Take care,
    Courtney

    Reply

Leave a Reply

