RSS Feed

It’s Independence Day!

Posted on

I couldn’t write about today (July3rd).  It was so wonderful and there are so many words and none of them are right to describe this day.  I did, however, write some thoughts I had tonight on the way home from the fireworks and finished it off with quotes that represent how I feel about our country.

On the way home, it was dark, and the wind was cold in the bed of that truck.  As I laid down in the bed, I put my head in Sam’s lap and looked up at the stars as we sped down the back roads of our small town.   No street lights, no noise.  Just stars and pastures, fields, interspersed with houses with little lights glowing in the windows.  Wood smoke in the air and the smell of a summer eve, and for a very few brief moments it was perfect peace.  For a few moments life slowed down.  Even though we were traveling fast, for me the world seemed to almost stop.  All was right with the world and I thought that there is no place on earth where the smell is so sweet, where the wind whispers my name so fondly, or where country roads go on forever as they do right here in America… my home.  I can visit a thousand countries, the most beautiful of lands, travel the seven seas, see the Northern Lights, the Seven Wonders.  I can watch volcanoes erupt, swim with dolphins, and eat all kinds of delicious exotic food.  But I don’t think I would ever want to leave my home, my country, America.

“You have to love a nation that celebrates its independence every July 4, not with a parade of guns, tanks, and soldiers who file by the White House in a show of strength and muscle, but with family picnics where kids throw Frisbees, the potato salad gets iffy, and the flies die from happiness. You may think you have overeaten, but it is patriotism.”

Erma Bombeck

Yes, my friends, that is my husband.  He is wearing England’s rugby jersey with the English rose on it….while we’re celebrating independence in America.  It’s a free country.  🙂

“The true meaning of America, you ask? It’s in a Texas rodeo, in a policeman’s badge, in the sound of laughing children, in a political rally, in a newspaper… In all these things, and many more, you’ll find America. In all these things, you’ll find freedom. And freedom is what America means to the world. And to me.”

Audie Murphy

“I believe with all my heart that standing up for America means standing up for the God who has so blessed our land. We need God’s help to guide our nation through stormy seas. But we can’t expect Him to protect America in a crisis if we just leave Him over on the shelf in our day-to-day living.”

Ronald Reagan

“You can always count on Americans to do the right thing – after they’ve tried everything else.”

Winston Churchill

“We’ve gone astray from first principles. We’ve lost sight of the rule that individual freedom and ingenuity are at the very core of everything that we’ve accomplished. Government’s first duty is to protect the people, not run their lives.”

Ronald Reagan

The girls were pretty bored waiting for the fireworks to begin, but I think they felt it was worth the wait!!

I love this man!


“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness….”

Declaration of Independence

7 responses »

  1. Your post is like coming home. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Beautiful Pictures!!
    Beautiful Quote!!!

    Reply
  3. These are all fantastic quotes!

    I sounds like your family has had a great time celebrating so far!

    Reply
  4. What a fantastic post – I echo your feelings expressed through photos and quotes – we live in a great land! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Your family is SO beautiful Liz. And so are you. Just as lovely as can be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

