RSS Feed

The Good Ol’ Days

Posted on

Me as I gave Bloke a wet hug in the pool: Ahhh, this is nice. Just like the good ol’ days.

Bloke hugging me back: Who’s to say these aren’t the good ol’ days?

Yesterday, Bloke came out to the pool to hang out with the girls and I for a while. He doesn’t like the water all that much per se. But he will come out in the evenings when there’s hardly anyone there…more so now than before.  Yesterday right when he got there, a storm cloud passed over.  For about an hour the rain came and went.  We had to get out of the pool.  Then we could get back in the pool.  Bloke stuck it out.  Normally, he would have said we should leave.  I’m so glad we didn’t because our evening out in the quiet of the water, out in the country was another perfect moment.  We don’t experience many moments that we consider perfect.

Before we had children, he’d come out with me a lot and we’d play and frolick like kids….young people in love. It’d be quiet in our little world. No one could enter in. No children’s voices. No obligations. No worries. No one and nothing could penetrate the bubble that we were in while we were playing in that pool.  Sounds silly really.  The pool is not exactly a romantic place.  But for me, it’s not about the pool really.  It’s about that period of time when everything was right with the world.  Someone found me beautiful.  Someone loved me just because I was me.  Someone accepted me just because.  And I loved that someone just the same.

What Bloke told me made me think. What are the good ol’ days anyway? It’s relative really. The good ol’ days used to be when we were young and free and worriless with less baggage, less troubles, less responsibility. We spent money like there was no tomorrow. We did what we wanted when we wanted.

However, 20 years from now, what will we think of as the good ol’ days? Surely we will remember fondly our days of childless bliss, but we may in fact remember the good ol’ days as the days when we recognized daily that we are finally a family…a real family. We do family things. We eat at the table together. We go places together. We work through rough days together and rough situations together. We attend to one another. Our home is filled with love no matter who is angry, who is throwing a tantrum, or who is in a raunchy mood.  What may seem simply normal to everyone else is a miracle to us.  What a miracle it is from where we came.  Bloke told me a while back that he wasn’t afraid anymore when we have a disagreement or are distanced from one another.  He’s not afraid because he said he knows whatever it is we can work it out.  God didn’t bring us all this way, through all of those trials, for us to be apart again.  I agree.

So, after considering it, maybe the good ol’ days are a culmination of all the past good times in our lives.  Any period of time where we can look back and go, “Ahhhh, this is nice. Just like the good ol’ days”  and remember that that very period of time is also a period where all is right with the world, where someone still finds me beautiful, where someone still loves me just because I’m me, where someone still accepts me just because, and where I still love him just the same….maybe, quite possibly even more.

4 responses »

  1. This post made me sigh…in a good way. 🙂

    Reply
  2. What a great post – very thoughtful, very sweet. And great photos, too! I totally want to go swimming now 😉

    Reply
  3. This is such an adorable post! You husband sounds like such a sweetie. 🙂

    Reply
  4. I love this! I love how in the one picture it looks like he is saying ‘are you kidding. stop taking my picture!’ and then in the next one he has burst into a smile.

    Happy Fathers day to him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

