RSS Feed

Big Bed = Big Deal

“Growing up is never easy. You hold on to things that were. You wonder what’s to come. But that night, I think we knew it was time to let go of what had been, and look ahead to what would be. Other days. New days. Days to come. The thing is, we didn’t have to hate each other for getting older. We just had to forgive ourselves… for growing up.”

The Wonder Years

I so did not want this day to come…the day when that sweet tiny little baby is big enough for a real bed.  I’m happy.  Really I am.  I’m so happy that she’s growing up, but I’m also angry that she is.  And because I missed and was totally unprepared for her transition from crib to toddler bed/daybed because Bloke did it while I went out one evening, I wanted to make the hugest deal out of Avery getting her first big girl bed with big girl bedding and most definitely a big girl attitude (good connotations here)!  I love her so much, and when she tells me she loves me right up to the moon and back, my heart melts and feels like it will explode.  I want to remember the first time she slept in this bed, the first time I finally accepted that, while she will always be my baby, she most certainly is a little girl, and there’s absolutely nothing I can do or want to do about it.

5 responses »

  1. SUCH a cute bed (and little girl to sleep in it)! I started out in a twin-sized bed at 18 months and the pictures of me, barely walking, and the bed are hilarious.

    Reply
  2. Love the flower comforter! They do seem so grown up in a big girl bed!

    Reply
  3. Aw, your baby’s growing up. Actually that’s my famous quote i say to my girls (22 and 8) all the time. The neat thing is that they’ll ALWAYS be your babies!

    Reply
  4. btw, I don’t know why a smily came up on my comment up there, it’s meant to be the number 8. Weird!

    Reply
  5. It really IS a big deal! I love the photos – she looks so confident. Adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

