RSS Feed

Optimism At Its Finest

So I haven’t posted this New Year yet. Honestly, there’s not too much going on…oh you know, besides the normal chaos and craziness of our lives.  Our Christmas was wonderful!  Our family was together, and we were all spoiled rotten as usual, the girls most of all.  I also got some chances to teach them about giving and loving on others, and we still tried to keep the focus on Christ.  I think we were fairly successful!

However, until just a day or so ago, I was not hopeful for this year at all.  It started off rocky already and we’re only a few days into it!  But then just recently I remembered my hopes and dreams for this year, my goals for me as well as our family.  I was uplifted at the thought of the progress we could make in the coming year, the work that needs to be done, the events we have to look forward too (or at least I do – I can’t say that Bloke really looks forward to some of them, but he’s generally a good sport anyway!).  So there’s lots going on.  And, I’ve found, there’s a mystery to each year.  You know what you want to do, but you don’t actually know what the year holds for you, or what God’s plans are.  Many of us live in the future or the past and not in the now (I’m actually guilty of both).  We often miss the now because we’re so preoccupied with the future or past, but the now is where the mystery lies in each year.  It is where God does his most obvious work, in the day to day.  We just have to stop long enough to see it.

My “baby” turns 2 next week.  Stay tuned for a post that struggles to celebrate her growing up…

2 responses »

  1. Nice to see another post from you. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing some cake photos!

    Reply
  2. Good post, this year will be a good one. I’m saying it now 🙂 It sounds like you have some good goals, and I think it’s all about how we look at each day, and how we take each step. I’m determined to enjoy more of this year than I did last year! And wow, 2??!! Our babies grow up too fast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

