RSS Feed

Crisis of Faith Part 2: Are the facts true?

So I originally (and naively) thought this faith journey or this discovery of what I believe, rather, would only take a few weeks. I thought I’d be able to figure this out. I mean it can’t be THAT difficult right? To know what you believe? I’ve found that this journey may continue for a while. I’ll update you when I learn something new, but I also want to continue blogging about my “regular” life as well. Today, however, you get a view of what I’ve been learning.  I have to give kudos to friends and family for lengthy discussions about God, religion and faith as well as to a book I’ve been reading called I Don’t Have Enough Faith to Be An Athiest by Frank Turek.  I’ve also done some research online.

I left off with legalism and set out to discover why I believe in Christ as my Savior. I have, quite honestly, come to a point where I’m not sure what I believe about Jesus Christ. In order to find out, though, I realized I have to begin with what I believe about God. This has been difficult. What do I know to be true? What is fact, and where does fact end and faith begin? And do I have more fact than faith or more faith than fact? And are the facts that I have even true? So here’s where I am in my journey.

1. I believe that the Big Bang did happen, and I believe that God made it happen.

2. I believe that everything in existence came from something and that something can’t come from nothing.

3. I believe that an almighty being, greater, more intelligent, more powerful, and more knowledgeable than anything I could ever fathom created everything in existence.

4. I believe that is possible for there to be life on other planets in other solar systems. Why limit God to one?

5. I believe that a Creator who not only created people but a world with such wonderful, beautiful and magnificent things as our world has – food, shelter, beautiful animals, the ocean and astonishingly beautiful places – is a Creator that wants his creation to be provided for in every way; hence, he is a Creator who shows emotion, love. He could, quite possibly, have created a world that was uncomfortable, a world where all of his creation had to struggle for food, clothing, shelter, etc. I know that there are people out there that do have to struggle for these things, but it is not necessarily because the provision isn’t in existence but more what we do with it and how we get it to others. And obviously those areas where people are suffering have not always been so lacking in provision.

6. I believe that the facts are true because I have nothing else to go on. Sure, our human minds are small. There are plenty of other theories about humans and about Earth that could exist that would mean that the Creator isn’t all knowing, all powerful, and omnipresent. For instance, what if we were an accident?  What if God intended on creating something else but He did mess up?  What is nothing?  Was there really ever nothing?  How can even God create something from nothing?  Who created God?  These questions may never be answered, but that’s ok.  I choose to believe based on the evidence I have been given.

Does all of this mean I know for 150% certain that there is a God? No. No one can honestly say that because they have not seen God. It means that I have a lot of fact and a little faith and that’s enough for me to believe.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Liz,
    Very thought provoking. It’s important to know where we stand in our beliefs. What has helped me is just the simple prayer, “Lord, show me how much You love me”. That’s my heart’s cry. Then all things fall into place.
    God bless.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for sharing this very personal journey. Like Brenda, I am going to share my “go-to” prayer too. I don’t know chapter and verse but it is the scripture “I believe. Help thou my unbelief.”

    Even to believe in him I have to rely on him. He IS my all in all.

    Reply
  3. Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    Robert Shumake Paul Nicoletti

    Reply

Leave a Reply

