RSS Feed

Notes from the Sand

So, we’ve been hanging out here at the beach since Sunday. I’ve always felt the ocean and I have a good understanding of one another. It’s a love affair of sorts. I could watch the waves come in even if it was 50 degrees outside and still be happy. This year was the first year that the Bean has seen the ocean (at least in person) and only the second year the Peanut has, and it has been wonderful to watch them play in the ocean and grow to love the beach! I’m so thankful that I’ve been able to capture many of those moments on film (to come much later after we get back).  I’ve also been thinking a lot about what God is teaching me with my love and  passion for the ocean.

When I finally get a chance to go out into the ocean deep by myself for a few minutes, I’m reminded once again of my childhood. It’s quiet (with the exception of the sound of the waves of course). I feel like I’m at its mercy. I’m not in control. It’s nice to not to want to feel in control since I have serious issues with that very thing….serious serious control issues. I mean serious. I feel like God has used this trip to remind me that I’m not in control.  I am reminded that there are things on this earth that are bigger and greater than me, and I so love that they exist and that God created them!   I can practice safety on the beach with the girls.  I can protect them to some extent from the dangers of the beach and the ocean.  And I myself can practice those same things.  But I cannot control the ocean, what it does, how fast it does it, or what’s in it.  I have to trust that the Lord is in control of the ocean as well as our lives, and that He is in control of everything all the time.

Something else I’ve considered is how what I know of the ocean corresponds to what I know about God.  I know that God is the Father because only (note NOT ‘only because’) the Father could create something as majestic and perfect as the seas.  It is no accident that the seas are vast and deep and supply our world with much needed water.  I know that God is grace and gives grace and that he gives us enough for each day until we die and go to Heaven just as each wave takes care of the next until it gets to shore.  I’m also reminded of how glorious God is. One water droplet doesn’t make an ocean.  Every single droplet is necessary to create the seas, and it’s in all of those droplets together that we see the enormity, the magnitude of the ocean. We, as God’s children, glorify him the most when we pull together as one church and one people, when we love one another as ourselves.  It takes all of us working together to create one body in Christ, one union in Him.  Lastly, the ocean reminds me of God’s consistency.  The tide rises and falls without fail.  The waves crash onto the beach constantly.  The ocean contains all that is needed to feed what lives in it.  God is consistently loving, full of grace, forgiving, patient, and kind.  He gave us Christ, and in Him is everything that is needed to sustain us. It is through the ocean that you get to it.  It is through Christ that you get to God.

I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through Me.           John 14:6

ocean dusk

Picture credit to photo.muse

One response »

  1. Have you heard david crowder’s version of How He Loves? Check it out on YouTube from their newest cd Church Music. I love the line in that says I am a tree bending in the weight of His grace and mercy. Or something like that. And another line is something like: if His love is like an ocean we’re all drowning in it. I think you’ll like it. The first half of your post reminded me of the song. 🙂

    And yes, it’s a shame instead of merging together as the WHOLE body of Christ, we allow silly, stupid things like denomination, maturity, etc to get in the way. Can you imagine the impact if more loved & accepted each other because of the common threads of loving our God and being His children?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

