RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Brown-Eyed Baby!

Posted on

**I wanted to post this on July 27th.  I actually wrote it then, but I never got to post it.  I also wanted to edit some pictures to add to it, so here it finally is!  Ta da!

Today is another day of happiness and mourning as we celebrate Peanut’s birthday. She’s four years old. I’m so excited to see her grow up and we are so blessed to be given her! I’m so thankful for every day she awakes. I’m thrilled to watch what was once a baby become a little girl and to see all the things she learns every day…to watch and hear her progress.

For me, just as I did with her younger sister and just as I have with her previous birthdays, I also mourn her growing up. I know that as she continues to grow up she will lose her innocence bit by bit, and one day it will be gone. One day she will probably even know more than me. Actually, I think in many ways she knows more than me now.  She definitely teaches me about forgiveness, a lot about love, and even more about God’s grace and blessing than I think I would have learned without her.  She has been a rock in many storms.  She’s very often a comforter to me and to others, and the Lord has used her in  my life in more ways than I could ever mention.

My brown eyed baby is turning into my brown-eyed girl. Well, happy birthday sweet Avery! I certainly do love you more than words or deeds will ever show!  My mom used to play this song on the piano, “Sunrise, Sunset”.  I know now why this song was so dear to her.  I know why she played those words.

Is this the little girl I carried?
Is this the little boy at play?

I don’t remember growing older
When did they?

When did she get to be a beauty?
When did he grow to be so tall?

Wasn’t it yesterday
When they were small?
Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly flow the days
Seedlings turn overnight to sunflowers
Blossoming even as we gaze

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears

What words of wisdom can I give them?
How can I help to ease their way?

Now they must learn from one another
Day by day

They look so natural together

Just like two newlyweds should be

Is there a canopy in store for me?

Sunrise, sunset
Sunrise, sunset
Swiftly fly the years
One season following another
Laden with happiness and tears

Pool Girl 3

Pool Girl Close Up 2

4th Birthday Present

Mouth Wide Open* Thanks to my dad for picture number 3 and obviously Angey Price Photography for picture number 4!

4 responses »

  1. Happy birthday to the big girl!

    Reply
  2. Oh so sweet… I just love what you’ve written. Happy Birthday big girl!! She is beautiful!!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha

    Reply
  3. What a sweetheart! Happy belated Birthday to her!

    And I love that song!!!! Definitely something a child will never understand until they have one of their very own!

    Reply
  4. when i was a kid, i love to receive an assortment of birthday presents like teddy bears and mechanical toys :`*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

