RSS Feed

Satisfaction Guaranteed

I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:12-13

Our pastor preached on evangalism today and on being good stewards…planting, sowing, and harvesting. It’s something I feel, as Christians, we generally have problems doing. We don’t evangalize enough. And when we do, it often seems awkward, forceful, and unloving (I can say this after having been on the receiving end in the past).  We don’t use our talents and treasures enough for God’s glory and to bring people to Him.  We often don’t serve our church as well as we could.  For me, I can say it’s primarily that I’m preoccupied…with me that is.

I’m preoccupied with my satisfaction, my contentment.  How can I share the love of Christ, my gifts, my talents, my money, and how can I be a good steward for the Lord if I’m preoccupied with the life I don’t have?  Our pastor, during the same sermon, mentioned that if we are in God’s will, then we will be satisfied and content.  We will be happy with where we are in our lives and what we have.  When he said that I immediately had flashbacks.  Flashbacks of envious moments at friends’ houses because they had something I don’t, of times when I didn’t invite someone over because I was scared of what they might think of my home, flashbacks of so many lost opportunities to spread the news that we can live forever in Christ free of our sins!!

If I strive to look to the Lord, follow the Lord, love the Lord, and love and serve others, my satisfaction is guaranteed.  I can be content with my tiny home, old appliances, creaky floors, and drafty doors.  I can be satisfied that some mysteries of God will not be unveiled until I see him.  I don’t need to have everything or know everything.  I don’t need to keep up with the Jones’s.  I don’t need to be a scholar or well known or have a high paying job.  I do need to remain in God’s will and be content with the blessings he’s provided.  And when that is the case, I can more fully serve my family, my church, my community, my world.  I can better reach out.  I’ll be more apt to give away what I have to those who might need it more without thought of whether I’ll be satisfied without it.  I’ll open my home more quickly and eagerly.  I’ll develop better relationships because I won’t be worried about what they have that I don’t or what I desire that may prevent me from becoming friends with them.  My satisfaction in Christ is guaranteed…no returns, refunds or exchanges needed.

My husband argues that family comes first and that we are serving Christ by serving our family, and I do agree with him.  However, my next thought is, think of the example we are sending our children if we are not serving our brothers and sisters in Christ and the lost to the fullest of our potential!  Isn’t it our job not only to strive to be like Christ but to teach our children to do it also?  In serving the church and the lost, we ARE serving our families (and Christ)!  I want to strive to be like Paul is in the Philippians verse.  I want to be content in every circumstance of my life because I know that in my contentment in Christ, I can do all things.  I can be a good steward, serving my family, my church, and my world.

7 responses »

  1. Wow, amazing post again and love the topic. It’s so true that sometimes we get so caught up in ourselves that we forget what real loving is all about! Thanks for the awesome reminder!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

    Reply
  2. This was a gentle and loving reminder. You DID evangalize in this post!

    I am guilty of not working in the church. I have never in my life taken an active roll in any of the churches that we have gone to aside for Vacation Bible School. I am thankful for those who are willing to work and lead.

    Reply
  3. I’m sad that I missed that message!

    I’ve answered your question…

    http://ignoranthistorian.com/2009/04/final-questions/

    Reply
  4. Just stopping by to say hello!! Have a great night

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

    Reply
  5. Saying hello. I hope that you have a great weekend Liz.

    Reply
  6. Just stopping by to say hello!! Hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day tomorrow wherever your adventures take you!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

    Reply
  7. Just wanted to say hi and thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Also, have a wonderful Mother’s Day

    Reply

Leave a Reply

