RSS Feed

Day of Unrest – A Look at Sundays

I love Sundays. I love going to church and worshipping God with all of my fellow brothers and sisters in Christ. I love fellowshipping with them. I love the fact that I know my children are surrounded by others that love the Lord and serve Him. I love the singing and music. I love the teaching, Sunday night Bible studies and programs. I love seeing my heavenly (and kind of earthly too) family. I love everything about Sundays. But it is absolutely THE busiest day of my week. It is certainly not a day of rest. It is replenishing and nourishing to my spirit, but not really restful.

When I was a kid, Sunday was definitely a day of rest. We went to church, but our church was so small that they rarely had evening events, much less services or Bible studies. We came home from church. I remember stripping down out of my lacy socks or tights, dress, and patent leather black shoes and putting on comfy clothes (something I still regularly do…love my comfy clothes). I would sit down in front of the little TV in my room and watch Shirley Temple movies or some other black and white classic while my mom fixed a typically nice Sunday lunch to be eaten at the earliest 2 pm. My dad would watch football or baseball depending on the season or he’d read and listen to oldies classics on the radio. There is a distinct smell that I associate with my childhood Sundays too. My home. My family. Comfort. Rest. My mom would often take an afternoon nap after we ate, leaving the dishes and clean up from lunch until later. And if it was spring…oh, wow. We’d open up the windows and let the fresh breeze in and our whole house would smell wind blown and sweet. Everyone rested on Sundays….even the animals couldn’t be bothered to get excited about anything.

What I have found important as I’ve grown older and been through many different seasons is that I don’t think God cares too too much about WHEN your rest is as long as you take it and as long as you congregate with other believers to worship him. Whether they are the same day or different days. And I think God would want to know that whatever day our rest is on (for me it’s usually Friday), that we actually enter His rest as well. I think it would be pleasing to the Lord to be grateful for the rest He provides. For me, my quiet spiritual and physical rest….my personal and intimate time with God comes on Friday. The girls and I watch movies, read the Bible, sometimes cook muffins or cupcakes. I get my alone time with the Lord. We rejuvenate from the week and prepare for the delightfully busy weekend.

How sad to be a Christian and not enjoy the rest of the Lord, the peace that surpasses all understanding, the rejuvenation of mind, body, and soul. How much sadder if we do and don’t thank Him for it. NOT resting is actually disobedient to the Lord. I, personally, like to be busy. I don’t need a lot of down time. I like doing things with my children and for other people and spending time with friends and family. I LOVE parties, get togethers, events (especially anything involving good food), and being on the go. But I still need rest…not just physically, but spiritually. How can I be a good witness for Christ and glorify Him if I am not resting IN Him? Sometimes, I really miss those childhood Sundays where my rest was on Sunday. I reminisce often and wonder how my children will one day view their childhood Sundays. I think as long as they can say that during any given week they worshipped and adored the Lord and that they spent time with Him alone and in Him, they’ll remember their Sundays as sweet….if not all that restful.

Let us, therefore, make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one will fall by following their example of disobedience. Hebrews 4:11

Therefore, since the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us be careful that none of you be found to have fallen short of it. Hebrews 4:1

One response »

  1. What a great post. It can be difficult to get to that restful place, but definitely something we all need. Thanks for the encouragement!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

