RSS Feed

My Every Day Valentine

So after my Valentine’s post, something rather significant happened (Husband promised he hadn’t actually read the previous Valentine’s post). I invited husband over (again! : )) yesterday to watch a movie…his choice. He shows up with my favorite Ben and Jerry’s ice cream, cookies for 3 year old, and “baby” goldfish for Baby! And (drum roll please) flowers! On top of that he brought a movie that I wanted to see. It was a good time.  He even stayed to help get the girls ready for church.  It seemed like a normal family…even though it’s not.

flowers-from-sam-2

I love these times we’re having…times to learn about who we are NOW as individuals in Christ and as a couple in Christ. Though we have times where it seems like we’re making no progress, it’s been many of our moments alone where we realize that we actually are. It’s so exciting to see what God is doing in each of us and our relationship every day!

My non-Valentine Valentine was awesome. It told me a lot more about the New Normal. It showed me more about Husband’s desire to love, forgive, talk, communicate, and strive for righteousness even when he doesn’t feel like it. It was proof of that desire. While he certainly didn’t NEED to prove it, he did anyway (and probably not on purpose which is even better).

We still certainly have ups and downs, conflict (resolved and unresolved), and, unfortunately, still a long road ahead, but I’m consistently thrilled with the changes in both our hearts. I’m excited to see and hear about answered prayers in my life and his. And, while he may not really share this particular enthusiasm, I love being courted again! He did a good job the first time around, but I think it’s even better now.

I see the example of what marriage should be starting to form. I want to please Husband and he wants to please me. Husband is striving to place God first and to find his correct place in the family, and I am striving to submit to husband in a biblical way even though we’re not actually dwelling together.

So on this happy note, I officially have bloggy names for Husband, Three Year Old, and Baby. They are (drum roll again please): Bloke, Peanut, and The Bean. What’s my name you ask? Well to one person only, I’m the Bird, and I think I’m peeking over the wall.

flowers-from-sam-close-upHe will heal the brokenhearted and bind up their wounds.  Psalm 147:3

3 responses »

  1. That is WONDERFUL! So glad you had an amazing time, and a taste of what marriage can and is meant to be!!!

    🙂
    ~Tabitha~

    freshmommyblog.com

    Reply
  2. It’s a long road of reconciliation with Bloke (hehe), but this is one more step down it.

    Reply
  3. So, obviously, I’m way behind, but getting caught up on the blog. I can’t tell you how often I want to call you “Liz Bird” but I never do… how funny is that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

