RSS Feed

Funny Coffee

You know there are some things that are kosher to laugh at…farting, toilet paper hanging from your pants, undone zippers, and the like. Cancer isn’t one of them. Yet, I cackled when I read my Starbucks coffee cup today. I don’t know why. I guess I felt like if the person who wrote it could laugh at it then it was kosher for me to. Here’s what it said:
The Way I See It #295
Can we laugh at caner? Is it funny to lose your breasts? Am I crazy to have humor when I lose my hair? Should I ignore the giggles while receiving chemo? What if I nudge someone and sneak a smile, even though I have no eyebrows? Is it inappropriate? Don’t be offended, it beats waxing!

-Julie Wade, Starbucks customer and cancer survivor from Seattle, Washington

Wow. Did you laugh? I still want to cackle when I reread it. Why I suppose. Not sure. Just a lighter interesting note for today.
starbucks-2-cups

5 responses »

  1. If I ever had cancer, I hope I would take it like that.

    It’s so good to see you posting! I hope you keep it up this time. Let me know if you want me to introduce you to any of my bloggy buddies or favorite blogs! (That sounds shady…I just mean I can let you in on my corner of the blogosphere…okay, that sounds no better!)

    Reply
    • Yeah, I would hope that I’d be like that too! I mean come on…didn’t you laugh? Didn’t you chuckle just a little? And yeah, i totally want to get bloggy buddies! I think I will keep up the blogging. For some reason it seems easier this time. I think there’s so much going on in my life and there’s so many people caring for us and loving us and want updates, but it’s hard to email everyone and keep everyone up to date so this is a much easier way. And hopefully the Lord will use it to minister to someone else.

      Reply
  2. More like a “Do whuuuuuuut?” reaction for me. I guess I can’t get it since I’m not a coffee drinker.

    Reply
  3. At least they’re positive about it.

    Reply
  4. I love your blog. Very funny.
    Keep up the good work
    Annie
    http://www.anniesabarte.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

