RSS Feed

My Grace Is Sufficient

I have some awesome friends…brothers and sisters that I never had. So when one of them – probably the best friend I’ve ever had – told ME that I should have a little grace for the husband who has hurt me and our family -and even my friends -beyond any words…beyond any comprehensible measure. I was devastated. Crushed. How could she? She’s supposed to defend me. To stand up for me. To love me. Hadn’t I had given enough grace to him? How could I possibly spare any more? It took some moments…I say some because it really was before I realized she had. She’d done more than any of those things. She’d done all of those things and most importantly she loved me enough to correct me.

Wow. What if God said that? I can just picture it now…a letter from God saying, “You know, Liz, I think I’ve had more than enough grace for you for this lifetime. I’m so done with that. You blew it.” Now, my next contention to this logic is, I’m not God so I’m not even physically able to give grace like He does because I’m human! Cool excuse, huh? Well, that kind of negates Him working through us and the whole Phillippians 4:13 thing that says, “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me”. There are numerous passages that could negate that logic, but the point is that the logic just isn’t all that logical for a Christian.

It is my job to have grace in every circumstance, with every person, every day. The only way I do that is with the Lord. So whatever seems humanly impossible (the bestowing of grace to my husband is the thing of the moment) is completely more than possible! And you know what? I don’t even have to worry about getting it! God just gives it…every time, all the time. Not to mention, I’ve done WAY worse to God than any human could ever do to me and continue to be supernaturally blessed! Actually, when I think about the number of times I’ve hurt people even continuously and they have forgiven and continue to love me and even overlook many of those hurts. That’s not natural. That’s God.

So while my humanness DOES make me want to just yell at my friend at the top of my lungs that I’m SO DONE with having grace for this man that is still my husband, the Lord interceded for me (thank you, Lord). And I don’t have to fear it or be anxious about it because I know He will give it when it’s needed. We don’t even have to ask. It’s a gift.

You know, I’ve never had any non blood relative love me like my Christian friends do. It’s amazing really. I simply have never experienced such an awesome power as that which is displayed through them. I’m not so naive as to think that all churches are like mine and all friends are like mine. I know the “church” isn’t perfect…even wrong in some cases. And I know many many many Christians mess up. Many are just plain wrong in their thinking, behavior,etc. I even know that MY church isn’t perfect and my friends are certainly not perfect. And I’m so GLAD! It gives the Lord even more room to work and show us what He can do!

“Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal. It’s a way to live.” – Jackie Windspear

2 responses »

  1. Good post! I just want to reach out and hug you.

    Reply
  2. This is a great post! If we think about it in the right light, Jesus remained true to His character even to those about to betray him. Hello??? Even washed feet!!!

    What an inspiration! Not saying anyone should just be a doormat, but yes, we should strive to show grace and love to everyone. Even me with my (shuddering) mother-in-law.

    I had a church like yours. Then I moved. There are so many days I just want to cry because I miss the truth of their sister and brotherhood. It’s not easy to find churches with the truest capacity to become a “true” church and family. Keep them close!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

